Distinguish between


Distinguish between

(i) Converging and diverging tectonic plates

(ii) Bhangar and Khadar

(iii) Western Ghats and Eastern Ghats


(i)The Earth’s crust is broken up into several lithospheric or tectonic plates. These plates are constantly moving atop the Earth’s mantle (semi-solid layer of molten rocks). Based upon their motion, tectonic plates are referred to as converging or diverging. Converging tectonic plates move towards each other and form convergent boundary. Diverging tectonic plates move away from each other and form divergent boundary.

(ii)Bhangar is the terrace-like feature present above the flood plains of the rivers. It is composed of older alluvium. It is the largest part of the Northern Plain. The soil of this region contains calcerous deposits locally known as kankar.

The newer, younger deposits of the flood plains are called khadar. This region is very fertile as it gets renewed almost every year. Hence, it is ideal for intensive agriculture.


          <div class= Contemporary India NCERT Solutions Class 9 Social Science Chapter 2 – Physical Features Of India

Leave a comment


Click here to get exam-ready with eSaral

For making your preparation journey smoother of JEE, NEET and Class 8 to 10, grab our app now.

Download Now