The area of ∆AOB having vertices A(0, 6), O(0, 0) and B(6, 0) is


The area of ∆AOB having vertices A(0, 6), O(0, 0) and B(6, 0) is
(a) 12 sq units
(b) 36 sq units
(c) 18 sq units
(d) 24 sq units


The points A(0, 6), O(0, 0) and B(6, 0) can be plotted on the Cartesian plane as follows:

Here, ∆AOB is a right triangle right angled at O.

OA = 6 units and OB = 6 units

$\therefore$ Area of $\Delta \mathrm{AOB}=\frac{1}{2} \times \mathrm{OA} \times \mathrm{OB}=\frac{1}{2} \times 6 \times 6=18$ square units

Hence, the correct answer is option (c).


Leave a comment

Free Study Material